college world series
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

MYBOYSAY SPORTS CWS UPDATE: College World Series 2016: Monday Scores, Winners and Bracket Results: TCU beats Texas Tech 5-3 at CWS on Baker’s 9th-inning homer. UC Santa Barbara knocked out one of the College World Series favorites Monday when it defeated Miami 5-3. A four-run sixth inning propelled the Gauchos to victory. Oklahoma State rides Buffett’s gem in College World Series win over Arizona. College World Series 2016 scores and bracket: Coastal Carolina shocks Florida on Day 2, 2-1. CONGRATES TO ALL TEAMS ON REACHING THE WORLD SERIES LEVEL.

The College World Series, or CWS, is an annual baseball tournament held in Omaha, Nebraska that takes place in June of each year. The CWS is the culmination of the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship series which determines the NCAA Division I college baseball champion. The eight participating teams are split into two, four-team, double-elimination brackets with the winners of each bracket playing in a best-of-three championship series.

Since 1950, the College World Series (CWS) has been held in Omaha, Nebraska. It was held at Rosenblatt Stadium from 1950 through 2010; starting in 2011, it has been held at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha. Earlier tournaments were held at Hyames Field in Kalamazoo, Michigan (1947–48) and Wichita, Kansas (1949). The name “College World Series” (CWS) is derived from that of the Major League Baseball World Series championship; it is currently an MLB trademark licensed to the NCAA.

On June 10, 2009, the NCAA and College World Series of Omaha, Inc., which is the non-profit group that organizes the event, announced a new 25-year contract extension, keeping the CWS in Omaha through 2035. A memorandum of understanding had been reached by all parties on April 30.